Gumball Machine Revamp

13 Sep

When me, my sister and cousins were little we used to visit our aunt’s house as often as we could. It felt like a mini-vacation even though we were only a few miles away from home. We would camp in the backyard like we were out in the wilderness and swim in a little blow-up pool and pretended it was a jacuzzi 🙂 I  remember all four of us sitting in a big over-stuffed chair watching Michael Jackson’s “Moonwalker” (almost everyday) and on the shelf  right next to the TV was a bright yellow gumball machine.

My in-laws are having a yard sale this weekend so I went to my aunt’s house and gathered all the stuff she was willing to get rid of, one of those items was the old yellow gumball machine. When I got it home, I decided I couldn’t just let some random person buy it at the yard sale since it reminded me of when I was younger.  So instead, I cleaned it up….added a little paint ….and found a place for it on my kitchen counter!

2 Responses to “Gumball Machine Revamp”

  1. Monique September 13, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    AWWW,Niki! You’re so nostalgic…….and creative!! It looks great!! Here’s to the memories. Love you!

  2. Wendy White (@UU3ndy) September 13, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    It looks great!! I love the name on it!!

    Check out the stores that have tubs of candy items.

Leave a Reply

